Inspirational Word Quilts Revisited!

I had made a decision not to do anymore word quilts but I seem to keep getting requests for them. After thinking about it I designated the month of July to do a new design of them. Only this month will I be making them! I have been mounting  a lot of my smaller quilts on canvas and thought why not put four words on a quilt, mount it on to canvas so that you would be able to rotate them. Which ever way you hang the canvas that is the word for the day, week or month. Using my Shiva Paint Sticks I stenciled on four words that I felt would work well together. Gratitude, Serenity, Joy and Love. I am working on a wellness set also.

Stencils and shiva paint sticks

Stencils and shiva paint sticks

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

One thing I had to think about was a design that was not directional. When you rotate the canvas it would not matter. These are the first three.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

On my wall is a large size inspirational word quilt I am working on. Instead of Shiva Paint sticks I am using Pebeo Setacolor Fabric Paints. I just put enough paint on the stencil brush and then dabbed at the stencil with it. It gives the words a more painted look that I like a lot. It took me a while to get 21 words done. A few mistakes along the way but thats OK. I then decided to just put together different size blocks and strips to form a 14 1/2 inch unfinished block. I need 9 blocks to make the quilt. I have 5 done!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Here are a few of the blocks done. I think it looks like a modern design.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

My hope is to have this one and a couple of other quilts mounted on canvas done this month. Don’t forget celebrating Christmas in July on Etsy.

If you would like an inspirational word quilt mounted on canvas just go to www.thebutterflyquilter.etsy.com  to purchase from my shop!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Inspirational Word Quilts Revisited!

  1. Thanks for the inspiration! I’m surprised I hadn’t seen your blog before. Following now!

  2. Carol Ann Johnston

    Beautiful designs! Love your work

  3. Kathy kinsella

    I am glad to see you creating word quilts again … The four-sided version is wonderful!

  4. I’m so happy to see you doing word quilts again! I love the two that I have.:)
    This new design is just beautiful and I love that they can be turned either way for whatever mood you are in.

Leave a Reply

