Quiltsy Team Quilt #2

After finishing up the first quilt for our Team Quiltsy Project, I had some 6 1/2 inch blocks left over to start on the next.

I laid out some of the 4 1/2 inch and 6 1/2 inch left over blocks on my design board to see what design I could come up with.

First I took the left over 4 1/2 inch blocks and cut them down to 3 inches.

cut down to 3 inch square

cut down to 3 inch square

Take a 4 1/2 inch square of fabric. Cut in half and add on opposite sides from each other.

 Two ~ Four 1/2 inch square cut in half

Two ~ Four 1/2 inch square cut in half

Sew on large triangles on to each side.

Sew on large triangles on to each side.

Cut off excess white fabric. Then add two more triangle halves on to opposite sides.

cut off excess white fabric

cut off excess white fabric

Square the block up to 5 1/2 inches.

Square up block

Square up block

I then tried out different designs to decide what I might like.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI didn’t like this. The 6 1/2 inch block seem to over power the small four patch.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This was cutting up the large 6 inch block to make sashing and setting on the diagonal.

After receiving a lot of blocks in the mail one day I changed my design again. This time I took the 6 1/2 inch block and cut a strip from both sides measuring 1.25 inches (to be used for sashing) and cut the center to a 3 inch square. The two other pieces I could make another 3 inch square!

So out of one 6 1/2 inch square ~ Two 3 inch squares and Two 1 1/4 inch strips of sashing! ( I like the smaller sashing size to go with the smaller four patch)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once I figured this out I started piecing as I received blocks in the mail. Once the deadline for blocks being mailed was met, June 7th and the last of the mail was picked up I got to work. I used some of the 4 1/2 inch blocks and just cut those down to 4 inches and added white around the edges to make 5 1/2 inch unfinished squares.

I again used some left over 6 1/2 inch blocks for the border.

Here is the ending design. I still have to make a lot of sashing from my stash but I like the way this looks.

Final Dessign!

Final Design!

Once this is finished it will be a  baby quilt size. I used every block sent to me. Nothing was left excepts some small scraps when I cut the blocks back to a smaller size.

Don’t forget when this quilt is done it will be available for purchase in our Quiltsy Team Store ~ https://www.etsy.com/people/QuiltsyTeam

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Quiltsy Team Quilt #2

  1. Kathy kinsella

    Gorgeous, Patricia … We might have to set up an online auction for these beauties 🙂

  2. Both quilts are so pretty! I’m even more sorry now that I wasn’t able to participate…

  3. Patricia…I so enjoyed your shared design process. WONDERFUL result! Thanks for all your work on his project!

  4. Patricia

    You are so creative! I love it!

  5. Mary Jo Loomans

    Quilts are looking FABULOUS!!! Great job, thanks for doing this. Enjoyed participating.

  6. again – great thought process and final design!

  7. Beautiful, Patricia!! So fresh and colorful!

Leave a Reply

