WIP 10 ~ Piecing on a Slight Curve

My newest quilt is done by piecing on a slight curve.

I forgot I had bought a couple of black and white cotton prints.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

I wanted to add some color. Pulled out my scraps of hand dyed fabric.

Dyed fabric and batik scraps are the only ones I seem to keep!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This is how I piece a small curve in my blocks.

Start with two strips of fabric. Any size strip that you want.

Always cut a little bit extra for length if you know about what size you would like the finished block to be.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lay on piece on top of the other over lapping a 1/4 of an inch or more.

**Right sides facing up on both pieces!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Take your rotary cutter and just make a small curve cutting thru where both pieces overlap.

Should look something like this!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now take the top piece place onto of bottom piece RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER and sew you 1/4 inch seam. Matching fabric edges while sewing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once you have as many as you like sewn together, iron the block.  It will not be square at this point.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

You can make a bunch of blocks and sew them together this way after you square them up.

I wanted to add a piece of dyed fabric thru the center.  I did not square up the block at this point.  First I cut the block in a straight line somewhere on one edge or the other. Then sew a piece in the center of the block.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once this is done I iron again and then square up the block to the size that I  wanted.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This is what I have so far.

I like to play with them for a day before I sew them all together.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

If you would like to see what some other quilters are up to hop on over to ~ http://teamquiltsy.blogspot.com

Stop on over to my shop if you get a chance to see some of my other quilts!

 Thebutterflyquilter.com

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “WIP 10 ~ Piecing on a Slight Curve

  1. Pat

    Love that pop of color!

  2. Super cute with easy to understand directions! The b&w blocks look like lawn in the foreground, houses in the next row with roofs and ski in the top two!

Leave a Reply

