Story Behind the Quilt WIP ~ Best Friends

 I use to sell inspirational word quilts but stopped making them. Here is some photo’s of cards I carry made from those quilts I designed.

Inspirational word cards

Inspirational word cards

A customer of mine asked if I would be willing to make a set of special ones  for two eight year old girl friends. The words would be “Best Friends”. She sent me a special fabric that she purchase for the center of the quilts. The fabric is by designer Mary Engelbreit.

Fabric by Mary Engelbreit

Fabric by Mary Engelbreit

 I picked the little girls by the fence to use as the center of my word quilts. I went ahead and painted on the words “Best Friends” in a matching blue. I also decided to paint the girls clothing, hair and fence to draw you eye to the center of the quilt. I had some Riley Blake charm squares I just purchased from https://www.etsy.com/shop/Jambearies  that I used to do the small border around the girls.  I am going to appliqué different size hearts on the quilt using different colors from the charm pack.

Painted parts of the center

Painted parts of the center

 I have a wonderful variegated thread that I am going to use to quilt the background to add even more color.

I hope the little girls like it when they receive them. It is hard not to see someone’s reactions when they get a gift that I made.

Linking up with http://teamquiltsy.blogspot.com

A quick update on the girls quilts! All done!

Best Friends!

Best Friends!

#143a

My camera broke while taking these so they show a little blue! But they are on a white background fabric!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Story Behind the Quilt WIP ~ Best Friends

  1. Cute! Custom orders can be very fulfilling.

  2. Wouldn’t you love to be the fly on the wall when the girls open up these gifts? I’m sure they’ll love them! You’ve got a very special customer who would think of this.

  3. Kathy kinsella

    Colouring in the clothing and fence draws the eye nicely!

  4. Pat

    I love the coloring!! I can just imagine them when they open this up!

  5. wonderful pieces! The girls will love them

  6. Cards are beautiful. Can’t wait to see the “best friends” quilts finished.

Leave a Reply

