WIP 2A ~ The Chickadee Tree

Part Two of my Chickadee Tree Quilt ~ If you missed the first part here is a link!

https://thebutterflyquilter.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/2014-wip-2-the-chickadee-tree

I  copied all my Chickadee photos onto fabric using my printer.  A couple of them didn’t print all the way because I ran out of ink.  I used these imperfect ones to try and figure out how I was going to do my threading of the birds.

 Medium weight tear away stabilizer worked the best after trying a couple of different methods. Hardly any puckering when done. I was able to iron my birds flat. Note the back ground of the photo does not have any thread at this point.

Just started Thread Painting

Just started Thread Painting

After 9 plus hours, all my birds where done.

Front and back view with stabilizer

Front and back view with stabilizer

Birds All Done

Birds All Done

Next step was to use a light heat n bond to the back of each photo/fabric sheet and to cut out the birds, not square but a soft curve leaving some of the back ground of the photo.  Before connecting the birds to the back ground dyed fabric,  I laid them all out.

Heat N Bond to back of photo after thread work

Heat N Bond to back of photo after thread work

Free form rotary cut around the birds

Free form rotary cut around the birds

I found a batik fabric that I liked for the branches then ironed on some light heat n bond to the back of the tree fabric batik.  I cut all the branches to connect the branches in the photo of that particular bird.  Time consuming but I like the effect.

Once a section of branches where bonded to the back ground dyed piece of fabric, I then bonded the birds on top of the branches.  My design plan changed, I just couldn’t cut up the back ground fabric. Just to beautiful!

Chickadee Quilt Top Done!

Chickadee Quilt Top Done!

I love the way this is coming along!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “WIP 2A ~ The Chickadee Tree

  1. Very pretty Patricia! You always do such beautiful and creative projects.

  2. Kathy kinsella

    It is delightful … I love the way you used the branches to draw the eye from one bird to the next!

  3. Patricia – it’s looking fabulous! I think you were right to leave the background fabric uncut. I love how you matched your branches to the photos.

Leave a Reply

