End of Year WIP ~ Photo’s on Fabric

I have tried different methods of printing photo’s on fabric. Lately a lot of people that I know mentioned Spoonflower where you can design and print your own fabric.  http://www.spoonflower.com

I wanted to print something in a large scale. The only method that I new was to print a bunch of 8 x 11 sheets from my computer and stitch them together. I didn’t want any seams for this project. I went to my husbands photography files (he is a photographer) and found a beautiful abstract of a rock that I really loved.  He works with PhotoshopCS5  program and he came up with over a couple of dozen steps that make his normal photography have a different look.

To see his work check out  www.abeautifulsky.com

I choose this rock photo. Here is the original photo

Original Rock Texture

Original Rock Texture

In photoshop he applied dozens of steps to add an abstract feel to the rock and create different color schemes. You need to click on the photo’s to enlarge to see.

rock set of 4-1

It was hard choosing which color I wanted to test and send to Spoonflower to print, but we both decided on the blue/aqua, although the purple was a close second. So I went a head and was able to order a large print on one yard of fabric with some white around the border.

Waiting was the hardest part to see how close it came to the colors in the original photo. The photo is saturated to its fullest before loading it on to the site. It came in the mail a couple of days ago. It looks really nice. The colors are not as saturated but by the time I do quilting and other things I want to do to it, I don’t think you will notice. It came out better than I expected!

Spoonflower fabric

Spoonflower fabric

I am amazed that I can have something printed this large with one sheet of fabric. I ordered the kona cotton fabric to have it printed on. I also tested  to see if the color ran at all before quilting it. I wanted to keep some of the white border because I will be quilting into the border. Nothing ran or bled into the water. I had it in a sink so I could check to see. My thoughts are to add layers of batting here and there to make it three dimensional when I am basting the quilt. I also want to add fibers here and there. Can’t wait to start!!

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “End of Year WIP ~ Photo’s on Fabric

  1. OH MY GOSH!!!! Your creativity (and DH’s) are incredible! Love that you are playing will all your options…from nature to technology…and now back again to the natural talent part!

  2. Kathy kinsella

    This is SO gorgeous, Patricia! I have also wondered about Spoonflower but have never tried it out. btw, I love that original photo your DH took, too. I look forward to seeing what you do with this.

  3. Fabulous fabric, Patricia! I’d love to see the final project when you’re finished.

  4. Beautiful photo! Can’t wait to see what you do with this.

  5. See, I told you that the colours wouldn’t run or bleed 🙂 hehe I love spoonflower. That’s why I have loads and loads of designs on there… This is absolutely fabulous, I prefer the gold photo, but then you’re the one who’s creating the quilt hey, and I have no clue as to what effect you are reaching for. Spoonflower might be bringing another fabric out ( or more like a printing process,) called Ultra. The test samples of this have been very positive. The print is more vibrant than usual, so look for it or drop me a line and I’ll keep you posted as to when it’s available. 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing the end result Patricia, so exciting!
    Sylvie

  6. This is fabulous! I am learning so much about hi tech quilting!

Leave a Reply

