WIP #28 ~ Cat and Leaves

Well winter is on its way here in Maine. All the leaves have fallen and they are all a brown tan color. While taking my cat for a walk in  our back yard she started jumping and playing with a pile of leaves.  Why not do a quilt with a cat surrounded by leaves peaking thru? Looking thru my photo’s of our cat I found one that I thought would work great.

Original Photo

Original Photo

The photo was enhanced with my Photoshop program. I then copied the photo onto a special treated fabric that I could print  on with my printer. I went outside and gathered some leaves and placed them around the photo to see how I like it!

Real leaves with photo

Real leaves with photo

I liked the way it looked so I went ahead and went thru my fabric stash to find a lot of different ones of brown and tan. I had this one piece of batik fabric that went from light green to dark green for the background. I also decided to add trees to the background.

leaves are now in place

leaves are now in place

I am still trying to decide whether to add some more leaves or not.  Sometimes I have to leave a project for a day and walk away to come back to it to see what else needs to be added before I start to quilt it. I think I might end up adding  more leaves, making them smaller and trailing into the distance.

Trees added!

Trees added!

Once this is quilted it will look totally different. I plan on adding some paint also to give more dimension to the trees and the leaves. More leaves or not? That is the question!

Sale still going on in my shop! Stop on by if you get a chance!

http://www.thebutterflyquilter.com

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “WIP #28 ~ Cat and Leaves

  1. This looks just like what a cat would do in the leaves. Great quilt, Patricia!

  2. Kathy kinsella

    Great idea, Patricia …. Have fun pondering the leaves … Maybe one will fall off the edge . . .

  3. I just added a bunch more in the background and painted in the trees some. So it is still a WIP!

  4. Jennifer

    Super cool. Love your quilt.

Leave a Reply

