WIP #27 ~ Starting a New Project Geranium Flowers

As I was laying around trying to recover from the flu, I was playing around in my head designing a couple of new art quilts to make.  This is one that I really liked while going thru photos of flowers that my husband took and finally got a chance to check out the texture tools in my Photo Shop Program.

This is the original photo of Geranium Rozanne flowers.  Aren’t they pretty.  I love the blue with a touch of purple. My favorite colors!

Boothbay Bot Gard-01V

 

Now in photo shop in the textile tool there is a tool named stain glass. It divides the flowers into little sections with a mini white border around each section. I can make the white surrounding borders bigger or smaller.

textile ~ stainglass

Full photo of quilt

Close up of a section

Close up of a section

So in my Posterazor program I decided I like a size about  15 x 18. That being said, the pieces are only about 1/4 to 1/2 inch. Yes I know a little crazy!! Now to decide how to put it together.

I came up with three different methods.

1. Use a solid piece of white fabric. Mark all the lines and quilt heavily those white lines with white thread then hand paint in each section with fabric paint.

2. Use iron on interfacing.  Trace one large piece of interfacing with all the little cells and then cut out the small pieces. Place each little piece on top of the interfacing and batting. Carefully iron pieces into place trying not to get any interfacing on the iron! Quilt around all the cells with white thread.

3.  Mark a large piece of white batting.  Cut out individual cell pieces to the exact size (sigh) and then place them on the marked batting in the right spot. Place tulle over everything and sew all around each cell the white thread. The tulle will hold everything in place while quilting.

So what method would you use??

Don’t forget to check out my shop http://www.thebutterflyquilter.com for my ongoing sale of 30% off!!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “WIP #27 ~ Starting a New Project Geranium Flowers

  1. I’d use the Not On Your Life method! LOL I could do it, but I wouldn’t want to. Patricia, I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I know it will be beautiful! : )

  2. Looking forward to seeing which method you choose and the final work. It will be beautiful!

  3. Kathy Kinsella

    How about using a white whole cloth for the background. Trace the shaped outlines to fusible web (reversed) and then cut out each piece and fuse to the individual colours of fabric and then fuse those pieces to the white wholecloth with the little bit of white showing between the pieces to form the mosaic. (place the drawing under the wholecloth on a light window or a light box for your pattern) … then quilt over the whole piece. :o)

  4. Colleen

    I wouldn’t have any idea how to do this, but oh how pretty the flowers are! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt when you get it done. 🙂

  5. Thanks everyone!
    Kathy ~ I thought of that also. Not sure if I want to be cutting up so small pieces but might come to that! LOL

  6. Maryellen

    I agree with Kathy. Some of the stained glass quilt patterns I’ve seen use fusible on the fabric, with the background plain. That may be easier than worrying about getting fusible on the iron, but painting is probably the easiest.

  7. Pingback: WIP# 27A ~ Continuing Geranium Flowers |

Leave a Reply

