WIP #23 ~ Starting My Canyon Quilt

Lately it has taken me a while to figure out how I will approach an art quilt I am contemplating doing. Well lets just say I am going to do it, but have to figure out how. While hiking a gorge in NY, I had my husband take a photo of a scene I really liked. When I hit the quilt shops on the same trip I ended up buying some Batik fabric strips of solid off-white to brown and some printed fabric. Little did I know that all these colors are in the photo of the gorge.

One of the canyon walls

One of the canyon walls

Batik Fabrics

Batik Fabrics

Then one of the girls from my Quiltsy Team on Etsy, sent me this information about a quilt exhibit that had to do with butterflies! Here is the info if you are interested.   http://www.texasquiltmuseum.org/entries.html

So this got me thinking. What if I did the canyon wall 39 x 65 or 70 inches long. Then add butterflies flying around! See how my mind works?

I went to my local surplus store and came across colored burlap! Idea~~~  “What if I cut all the butterflies from the burlap and painted on the burlap the marking of the butterfly, then sew them onto the canyon wall?”  I have no clue if this is going to work or not but I will try it on a smaller art piece first.

Burlap!

Burlap!

Still working on how I am going to piece the canyon wall. My mind has a couple of ideas and will be trying those this weekend. Keep tuned and I will let you know if it is going to work or not. Half the fun is trying right!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “WIP #23 ~ Starting My Canyon Quilt

  1. Kathy kinsella

    I can “see” the quilt in that photo already!!!! Can’t wait to see your interpretation of it 🙂

  2. As I was reading, I thought you were going to say your were going to create the canyon walls with a billion butterfly cutouts!

    I like the idea of the burlap butterflies. It sounds a whole lot easier!

Leave a Reply

