Chapter #20 ~ Finishing up “Bella the Fox”

I finally was able to finish up Bella. If you want to see how she got started check here:

https://thebutterflyquilter.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/wip-wednesday-22-bella-the-fox-in-progress/

With my fabrics picked I ended up just doing a free form for the background and then I pieced in the rock and moss. With Steam a Seam I attached sections of Bella  to the pieced top.   I then painted in some areas using Setacolor paints to give her a little bit more dimension.

Before quilting!

Before quilting!

I then decided that I really wanted to do a lot of thread work on her and wanted her to have a little bit more dimension so I put a piece of batting under her and just did all the free motion stitching.

A piece of batting just under the fox

A piece of batting just under the fox

I carefully cut away just around the piece of batting as close as I could without cutting the thread or the front of the quilt. Once that was done I layered the quilt like normal to quilt.  Extra pins were needed around the body of the fox so it would not slip when quilting near it.

I did a really pretty leaf pattern on the greens with variegated thread of greens and filled in with a free motion stipple with another green. The rock I did a free motion zig zag stitch of greens on the moss sections and variegated grays on the other areas.

Close up of background leaves!

Close up of background leaves!

Rock with zig zag free motion stitch!

Rock with zig zag free motion stitch!

Now Bella is complete!!

#268 Bella

If you would like to see some of my other art quilts hop on over to~  www.thebutterflyquilter.com!

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Chapter #20 ~ Finishing up “Bella the Fox”

  1. Wow! She looks great. All the thread on the fox is amazing!!

  2. Kathy kinsella

    This is SO gorgeous, Patricia!!! The thread work you did on the fox is superb and I love the way that you pulled it all together. Well done!!

  3. Pat

    She looks so real!!!! Love her!

  4. Pingback: A Beautiful Gift: Friday Favorites #2 | SMARTdesigns by Stacey

Leave a Reply

