Chapter 18 ~ The Story Behind the Quilt: How it all Began

Well everyone has to start somewhere right. I just realized that I have been quilting for 22 years. The time seems to fly the older I get. I have kept a record of every quilt I have ever made. My first photo’s were done with those Polaroid point and shoot cameras and the picture would develop before my eyes. But that was the only way I could think to keep a record of my quilts. My first quilt, blue and white, hand done, and made with bed sheets because I couldn’t find any cotton fabric at the time. I was living in England far from any stores that sold fabric.

First Quilt

First Quilt 

If you are just starting out please keep a record of your quilts and label them with the date and your name– you never know where it might end up. My second quilt, “A Trip Around the World” hand quilted. One of the military wives fell in love with it and wanted to buy it for her daughter as a wedding gift. Her daughter was just a young  teenager, too young to get married. She had a hope chest already and she wanted to fill it as the years go by before her wedding.

Trip around the world in pinks!

Trip around the world in pinks!

At that time I never thought about where I would be with my quilting or how it would change my life or even if I would be as obsessed about quilting as I am now. I didn’t know I would quilt for a magazine, design and get published in a magazine, open my own shop on www.thebutterflyquilter.com to sell my quilts, that I would have a gallery showing or that I would ever enter a quilt in a quilt show, be accepted and win!

Once you find your passion anything is possible. Looking back on some of my first creations LOL I wouldn’t really call some of these quilts but then again I realize that like everything in life each step is a learning experience. You can get better if it is something that you want. So I will share with you some of my ugly quilts (as I call them) when I was just learning and thinking these are wonderful!!!! They were to me at the beginning and they are to those who received them!

What was I thinking!

What was I thinking!

I need a color class!

I need a color class!

Christmas Giveaway!

Christmas Giveaway!

Super Queen Size

Border happy!

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chapter 18 ~ The Story Behind the Quilt: How it all Began

  1. These are GREAT Patricia!! The basket quilt is a hoot! I think I have a few pictures of some of my first quilts…who knows where the actual quilts are. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Pat

    Love the story and the quilts! The basket one is too funny!

  3. Patricia, I love the story of your start in quilting. Like the others, the basket quilt is the one that gave me a chuckle. : ) I wish I had made pics of all those baby quilts I made back in the 70s and 80s.

  4. Interesting reading Patricia 🙂 As you say we all have to start somewhere and I don’t think that your first efforts were all that bad. The one where you say you need a colour class, would be perfect for a picnic or romping quilt… a casual relaxed quilt, if you know what I mean. 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. I love reading about your quilts. I’ve started to keep better track by blogging (Zeedlebeezmom) and a photo album. I could do a whole blog on my first ugly rag quilts too. I love your quilts and things on etsy!!!

  6. Thank you so much Frogers! I am laughing with all of you about my basket quilt!

Leave a Reply

