Inspiration from Gardening

Sometimes I need to take a break from quilting in order to get my juices flowing. I have been working in my flower garden areas. Since living in Maine my husband and I have moved a lot of rocks and that is what I use to close in my garden areas. Every year in spring time I head into my surrounding area and pick up rocks or boulders. It is a workout! The frost heaves during the winter push some fresh boulders higher up from the ground making it easier for me to shovel them out. We hired someone to move a lot of the larger boulders when we were building, then I added the smaller ones around to make a special place for plants. The problem is each year I add another space. LOL–It just keeps growing.

I have been out weeding and trying to catch up. I just finished planting some wonderful colorful flowers. Inspirational when you sit outside on my deck and just enjoy the animals, birds and the colors. Last year we laid 69 bags of mulch down. I am not mulching again this year but added another section for plants. I think my husband gave up on helping me but that is ok for I love the work.

New section. Pots in the ground with Daisy's!

New section. Pots in the ground with Daisy’s!

Forward section done weeding!

Forward section done weeding!

 

View from my deck!

View from my deck!

Other side of deck! Excuse the clothes line!

Other side of deck! Excuse the clothes line!

Across from my front door.

Across from my front door.

 

Starting to add flower pots to my deck!

Starting to add flower pots to my deck!

My husband doesn’t really mind because as a photographer, as long as I bring home pretty flowers, it keeps him busy too. I didn’t take some other areas I am working on but once it is all done and the flowers bloom at different times I love my gardens.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Inspiration from Gardening

  1. It is looking really nice! I love the flowers! Very peaceful. 🙂

  2. Pat

    Love what you have done!

Leave a Reply

