#16 WIP Wednesday ~ Weaving fabric

OK, on to something new. LOL Yup, I am forever trying something new. I wanted to try to weave my fabric in different methods just to see what I like better instead of piecing my quilt top to look like it is woven. An example is this bee quilt. I cut the strips then took each strip and sewed it in half. Iron it flat so seam was on the back side. Then I wove different fabrics together. Here is the finished piece.

Woven Quilt

Woven Bee Quilt

This time I wanted some raw edges. At least that is how it started out. I laid a piece of batting down first and wove these batik fabrics that go from light to dark grey and black and some blue. This new one I am working on will be called Moonlight Garden. At least I think so.

Raw edges

Raw edges

I decided to add another strip to the top across because I could see the batting no matter how tight the weaving was.

Fiber 1aI  use a variegated thread to zig zag the strips in place. Still no back piece just batting underneath.

fiber 1c

You can still see that it is a raw edge but not the batting underneath.

I then decided to take out my shiva white paint stick and paint in some little clouds and mist. To do this you take a piece of paper and tear it. Then you place the paper on your fabric and take your stencil paintbrush full of white paint and brush across the paper edge. It leaves an interesting design.

fiber 1dThis mini quilt is going to be a mixed media piece. I am going to use some batting and cheese cloth to make the flowers. I think! It is still a work in progress. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#16 WIP Wednesday ~ Weaving fabric

  1. Looks great so far! I have seen some tutorials on weaving fabric and have wanted to try it. Can’t wait to see what you do next.

Leave a Reply

