#11 WIP Wednesday ~ What to do with Rusted Pieces of Fabric

If you have been following along with me I explained how you can not sew rusted fabric on your sewing machine. Not wanting to throw away the pieces that I rusted I figured out what I will do with them.

My first small quilt will be made from this piece that has a lot of rust on it. I cut it up carefully!

Rusted Blade

Rusted Blade

I pieced a background  of different browns that went nice with the rust color. I then ironed on HeatnBond lite to the back of the pieces of my rusted fabric that I cut up. Ironed them onto a bright chartreuse  fabric that also had a layer of HeatnBond lite. Cut those out to make it look like a boarder was placed around each piece of rusted fabric. Then I randomly heat set all the pieces in place.

Close up of small zig zag stitch around rusted piece

Close up of small zig zag stitch around rusted piece

If you remember you can’t sew on rusted fabric because of the metals that adheres to the fabric will get into your sewing machine. I did a really small zig zag thru two layers of fabric so that the metal would not go thru to my machine, just catching the edge.

I added some large hand stitches and then buttons.

A great way to add buttons by machine ~ drop feed dogs, put machine into zig zag stitch, carefully check to make sure your zig zag stitch goes from one hole to the other without hitting the button itself. I take about 12 stitches and it holds it in place great. Those that make clothes probably know this but I don’t make clothes so this was a great surprise to me!

button with zig zag stitch

button with zig zag stitch

I have a couple of other rusted saw blades and other pieces that I am going to make some mini quilts out of so keep an eye out for my rusted fabric mini quilts!

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#11 WIP Wednesday ~ What to do with Rusted Pieces of Fabric

  1. Great way to use your un-sewable rusted fabric! I didn’t know about the button trick – thanks!

  2. Look forward to seeing the finished pieces. I like the idea of cutting up the unsewable…you could even just finish them and attach for a 3D look too.

Leave a Reply

