#10 WIP Wednesday ~ My Painted Poppies

Welcome to my WIP wednesday. Two weeks ago I talked about picking out  a certain background for these beautiful painted poppies I purchased on etsy from Gayle Pulley of Paintedquilts.

original thought

original thought

Well after changing my mind over a dozen times or so, I refigured my design and decided to make it a confetti quilt. One, most confetti quilts are all done completely confetti style. If you don’t know what a confetti quilt is, it is fabric cut up into small squares or shapes about 1/2 inch or smaller. Your whole quilt is usually done like that.

extension of the yellow painted flower

extension of the yellow painted flower

I wanted to keep my painted poppies as one panel and add confetti to the background of the quilt. I  wanted to extend one of the flowers out into the confetti field. I also wanted to add a large butterfly. My thought process was looking thru a camera trying to take a photo of the flowers then the background and side of the quilt would be a little blurry, but look, a large butterfly got into the photo too. Can you tell where I am going with this?? Just my thoughts on how this design came about. Don’t worry if you can’t follow along sometimes it is just my thoughts and I try to incorporate them into a design! LOL

confetti done on one side with placement of butterfly

confetti done on one side with placement of butterfly

If you want to learn how to do a confetti quilt a great magazine article by Sally Manke was published in the Art Quilting Studio Winter 2013 issue, or you can see her beautiful confetti quilts in her etsy shop ~ https://www.etsy.com/shop/SallyManke

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “#10 WIP Wednesday ~ My Painted Poppies

  1. Pat

    Your creativity always astounds me!! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt!

  2. That is going to be beautiful! I still don’t understand how you get so much done….with each piece so unique and creative.

  3. Colleen

    Your choices in fabrics are always so beautiful! Can’t wait to see the finished product. 🙂

  4. Thebutterflyquilter

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments! In the process of quilting it now!

  5. I love it! Can’t wait to see it finished (it doesn’t sound like we’ll have to wait long, either!)

  6. Wow! That’s going to be gorgeous! I don’t think that I have the patience for all those little pieces.

  7. This is going to be wonderful! Can’t wait to see it finished.

Leave a Reply

