#8 WIP Wednesday ~ Painted Fabric

While looking for fabric on http://www.etsy.com, I came across this beautiful hand painted piece of fabric. As a quilter one gets to admire those in the quilting field and recognize when someones work is wonderful.  Gayle is one of those I admire. You must check out Gayle Pulley’s shop on Etsy. http://www.etsy.com/shop/paintedquilts.

After seeing this piece a couple of weeks ago, OK yes it was weeks I have to admit, it kept popping back into my head. I then started thinking about different designs that I might be able to incorporate into a large wall hanging using Gayle’s painted piece. I had to have it.

Besides buying someone else’s  beautiful work, I was wondering how can you do something to it without offending the artist who made it. It is one thing to buy a dyed piece of fabric to cut it up and make a quilt out of it but when you buy a painted piece of fabric to make into a quilt that is another thing. At least for me. Gayle was just so happy when I asked her if I could do just that. Now the pressure is on to come up with something wonderful! LOL

painted flowers 3

I was going thru my stash and trying out different fabrics. I don’t know if these will work for this vision in my head but one never knows. You’ll just have to stay tuned in to see if it all works on in the end!

painted flower #2

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “#8 WIP Wednesday ~ Painted Fabric

  1. Beautiful hand painted fabric! I think I would also be nervous about cutting up a hand painted fabric, good luck finding just the right fabric combination to go with it and I can’t wait to see what you create..

  2. Gayle’s work is lovely…can’t wait to see what you do with it. I am sure it will be spectacular!

  3. Gorgeous painted fabric! Can’t wait to see what you do withit.

Leave a Reply

