The Story Behind The Quilt ~ Chapter 8: Soaring Compliments & Night Galaxy Quilt

Who is your favorite Quilter? As far back as I can remember the first time I saw a Caryl Bryer Fallert quilt I was hooked. If you check out her website and look at her Gallery you will understand why. http://www.bryerpatch.com

After years of trying to be in the same area she was offering classes or at a  quilt show she was teaching at, the classes were always full. I finally decided on my journey of learning new things that I was just going to have to do something about that. The next best thing! I looked at her web site and she was offering CD’s on some of her workshops. What better way to learn if I couldn’t be there in person then to order some and learn how to do all those beautiful flying geese on curves. I also get to watch it over and over again. I love the free flow motion of  curved pieces of art.

I went and ordered her pattern “Soaring Compliments” and  her disk on machine quilting. Even though I had been free motion quilting for a lot of years you can always learn something new from everyone who teaches. After completing her “Soaring Compliment” quilt I thought that I finally mastered it.

Soaring ComplimentsCaryl Bryer Fallert Design

Soaring Compliments
Caryl Bryer Fallert Design

I went to work on a large wall hanging where I designed and drafted it all out. I happen to love Mariner’s compasses so I had to incorporate some of those in my piece. Color, I was all for lots of color!! When I went to piece it that summer was one of the hottest we had here in Maine and the humidity was high so I had to put it away till the fall and when I pulled it out I knew I had to take a couple of weeks to complete it and not work on anything else.

Night GalaxyMy Design

Night Galaxy
My Design

It now hangs in my parents house on loan for the 60th anniversary. They said, “We don’t want anything for our anniversary!”, so I sent this as a loan for a year for them to enjoy. Not a gift but a loan!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Story Behind The Quilt ~ Chapter 8: Soaring Compliments & Night Galaxy Quilt

  1. I agree with you. Caryl Bryer Fallert is awesome.

  2. Fantastic job, Patricia! I love it!

  3. Very lovely. Where do you find the time to do all you do…

  4. Pat

    I can’t get over how creative you are, I love It!!!

Leave a Reply

