#4 WIP Wednesday ~ photos on fabric

I seem to be on this kick lately of doing photo’s on fabric. For the last two weeks I have been going thru my husbands photos and printing them onto fabric. From there I am designing a quilt around each photo. This week is his fantastic photo of a Hummingbird in flight at a flower.

Original Photo By My Husband

Original Photo By My Husband

When I printed out the first photo my yellow ran out in my printer and I ended up with this pink and blue hummingbird. Loved it. So I have a design in my head for this one.

Hummingbird missing yellow from printer

Hummingbird missing yellow from printer

I added my yellow ink to my printer and printed out the original photo.

Hummingbird on fabric

Hummingbird on fabric

From there I go thru my stash of squares. When I am finished with any project and I have just a little fabric left, I cut them into squares and store them all together. What ever size square I can cut from the left over fabric I do. From 2 1/2 up to 6 1/2 inches. They are all stored in one box and I just go thru them if I am doing a small projects to see if there is anything I can use. I will grab from there first!

Scrap box collection

Scrap box collection

This one is already pieced and ready to quilt. That is todays project, quilt and bind. I also would like to piece the second beautiful hummingbird.

Ready to quilt!

Ready to quilt!

Check out my husbands beautiful photography on his FAA site: http://www.abeautifulsky.com

Just finished this one!

This one just finished!

This one just finished!

Hummingbird #2 Finished!

Hummingbird #2 Finished!

5 Comments

Filed under WIP Wednesday

5 responses to “#4 WIP Wednesday ~ photos on fabric

  1. Great photo and beautiful quilt Patricia!

  2. Those are so pretty, but of course as usually you do such beautiful work. I need to take a class one of these days to learn how to print photos on fabric…hmmmm…..need to talk to my local quilt shop. Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

  3. Pat

    What a beautiful quilt!! love how the hummingbird and the flowers came to life!!!!

  4. Pat

    forgot to say, I can’t get over how he got the photo and even the foot!

  5. What a great team you and your husband make!

Leave a Reply

