#3 WIP Wednesday ~ Flower Garden

Just picking out fabric sometimes takes a little thought. I have two main fabrics I want to use in a small wall hanging and you can see how different they will look depending upon which background fabric I will choose. The one on the right is a solid white and the one on the left is a pale light blue solid. It changes the two main fabrics right away. I am going to be using the white because it makes the other two fabrics read the right color.

White on right and light Blue on left

White on right and light Blue on left

I fussy cut from the main fabric flowers motifs for the center of my squares. I use this method for all my word quilts also. It doesn’t matter how much I cut off of the motif I will be filling it in with quilting. That is what makes it so interesting. I never know how it might turn out!

Center motif's cut out

Center motif’s cut out

I have my six small blocks already with a little border around each. All different sizes! Now I need to figure out how to put them together in a quilt surrounded by my choice of white fabric. I will need to do some math! LOL

Small inner borders are on

Small inner borders are on

I hope to be putting a lot of free motion quilting into my flower garden like my word  quilt.

#104 Quilt

One of my Quiltsy team members on Etsy suggested I might like to do a wall hanging  with just the motifs and my quilting. So that is my goal. Thanks Sheri! You have to go check out her store at

http://www.etsy.com/shop/bungalowquilts

she has such beautiful handmade items!

My Flower Garden Finished!

My Flower Garden Finished!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “#3 WIP Wednesday ~ Flower Garden

  1. Love your fabric selections and your quilting is amazing!

  2. Patricia, I love your word quilts and it was great to see them “Work In Progress”! 🙂

  3. Pat

    Your work always makes me smile!! Love the flowers!

  4. Your work is wonderful. I can’t wait to see it after you’ve finished it.

  5. Looking forward to seeing your wall hanging. Your quilting is so lovely!

Leave a Reply

