#1 WIP Wednesday- Embroidery Bed Quilt

Did you ever realize, for those of you who quilt, that you make all these quilts and you just never have time to make one just for yourself. Well that is what I decided to work on for the last two months. I don’t think it will be ready by the time winter is through here in Maine but you just never know.

Embroidery Blocks

Embroidery Blocks

I was looking through  Etsy and came across these beautiful book covers by Gail Strata of QuiltSewCover.etsy.com and fell in love with her embroidery blocks. After my special order to Gail I got my seven large beautiful embroidery blocks. I decided on animal blocks. Going through all my batik fabrics, I found 6 packs of 5 inch square and a 2 packs of 2 1/2 inch tone on tone batiks and matched those to other batik yardage I have. I washed all my fabric and the blocks shrunk as well as the strips. So I cut my 5 inch squares down to 4 1/2 and added a 1 1/2 inch of my tone on tone batik around the blocks to make it a 6 1/2 inch unfinished block. Cut out a lot of 6 1/2 inch blocks from other fabric and even 12 1/2 inch large squares of some of my favorite batiks. I sat down and drafted out a simple design to put it all together.

choosing batiks!

choosing batiks!

I was going to quilt my queen size quilt in sections then put them together but I think I will just sew it all together and send it off to my long arm friend, Pat’s Machine Quilting, Essex, MA. I already have the back I ordered from SewBatiks.com who carry 108 inch batik backings. Love it!!

embroidery panel 2panel 1 embroidery block

Also I had all these little scraps left over from cutting back my squares, I sent them off to a quilter who is also on Etsy,  Sally Manke, who makes the most beautiful confetti quilts using little bits of scrap batiks. Check her out at SallyManke.etsy.com.

Hope to have it all together by March 1st! Wish me luck!

My bed quilt finished!

My bed quilt finished!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “#1 WIP Wednesday- Embroidery Bed Quilt

  1. Gail S.

    Patricia, this is going to be awesome! I love how you are using my embroidered blocks! They look so good among your fabulous batiks!
    Thank you for the feature.

  2. Lovely Patricia – It is going to be beautiful.

  3. Pat

    Love the quilt! I can’t wait to see it in person and start working on it!!

  4. Kathy kinsella

    This is stunning …. I love the way that you have created this quilt with the embroidered blocks!

  5. Gayle

    Beautiful quilt, Patricia!

  6. This looks great! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

  7. Totally Great work. Please continue this awesome work and I look forward to see more of your excellent posts. Take care.

  8. Just love this quilt! What a talent!

  9. You need to take part in a contest for one of the most useful sites online. I’m going to highly recommend this website!

Leave a Reply

